Sunrise, Moonset

The moon setting over Porters Skifield.  They should be happy up there.  It looks like they had fresh snow overnight.

I nearly missed this.  It is so often overcast around the time of the full moon that I have become quite pessimistic about it.  Then when rain was forecast for this morning I didn't bother setting my internal alarm clock.  By the time I awoke the moon was heading for a mess of trees and power poles.  I threw on some clothes and dashed out to get a better vantage point.  A prettier foreground would have been nice, but there was no time.

Edit:  The size of the moon is not due to post-processing tricks.  This is how I photographed it.  I suspect that it is caused by a combination of the moon illusion and the distortion of the telephoto lens.  The lens magnifies things that are more distant than others.  In a photo of a crowd of people, for instance, the figures at the back look larger than those in front.  In this photo the hill in the foreground is 2 or 3 kilometres away, and the mountain is more than 70 km, as the crow flies.


Other moonset shots

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.