Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Carpark

Next to our bedroom is a room with bookshelves. Books, comic books, numerous Star Wars (and a few other) figurines, and model cars abound a bit, alongside some more shelves of CDs, my telescope, my broken acoustic guitar, a papasan chair, and the footstool/chaise lounge bit we don't use from our sofa - upon which reside a few soft toys. It's kind of my room, in other words.

Or so I like to think.

This morning, the soft toys were not residing upon said stool thing. They were on the floor, alongside a toy car playset city thing, and many cars. Occupying their spot were maaaaany cars (though I see this afternoon their number has approximately doubled), courtesy of the young master.

I decided it might make an amusing shot, so grabbed my iPhone, opened up Camera+, snapped, and tried out a couple of filters. I liked this "fashion" one (as I often have done).

I got some more nice photos of the kids outside, and very nearly blipped one, but in the end decided to go with this.

Ran again this morning: fartlekked - or kind of, anyway; "run intervals" as prescribed by my Runmeter app. (So not a real fartlek session, but one must exploit the potential for juvenile humour, mustn't one?) Five minutes warm-up; then four cycles of 1:30 run fast followed by 1:00 run slowly; then five minutes cool-down. Wow.... I felt great afterward, and will definitely do it again, but man! that was exhausting. My fastest pace was 3:28/km, which has led me to some pretty stark understanding of some distance runners: if I kept up that pace for 26 miles (instead of probably 26 metres xP ) it would mean a 2 hour 26 minute marathon ... The world record is 2 hours 3 minutes ... O_õ My father's fastest marathon time was 2 hours 41 minutes, which translates into an average pace only 22 seconds per km slower than that fastest pace of mine - which felt like the biggest sprint I could manage.

Wow.

I am pleased though, at how much I managed to push my mind, which in turn pushed my legs. I was comPLETEly knackered - or so I thought, but I told myself to shut the hell up and keep running faster. And I did manage to do so, to an extent. I couldn't keep from slowing somewhat through the "fast" sections, but I managed to keep pushing, which pleases me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.