A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

A precious hour.

I was on duty this morning. Did my first nappy change and then left her with mum for a feed. Of course it needed changing again then but afterwards I left Grace to catch a precious hour's sleep.

Eda was very alert and awake so we sat and enjoyed our precious hour together where I sang to her. I sing a lot: church choir, singing group, Harden Players but it's amazing how hard it is to remember all the words. I sang Be Still; The Skye Boat song; Thou shalt have a fishy; A mockingbird amongst a few others but some of the words always eluded me. The only ones I could remember all the way through were - Pack up your troubles and It's a long way to Tipperary as we've just been singing WW1 songs. Don't think Eda minded she'll soon know she has a crazy but besotted Granny.

We had a health visitor late morning and then we set off into town on the bus! She had an appointment with the registrar. She could have been registered just across the road at Sputhmead Hospital but Sue is Chairman of BLOC am dram group and wanted to register Eda herself. Grace had to feed her all through the meeting which was fine and then she gave her a pretty little pink rabbit and a huge plant which we then had to get back on a very crowded bus.

A mission but nice too. Eda is now official and she slept enough to allow us to go to a coffee shop across the road from the Registrars Office for coffee and cake. We ladies have to keep up our traditions and it saved us from a sudden shower.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.