Chirk Castle

My cousin Joanne suggested Chirk Castle for a day out so the three of us drove deeper into Wales. It was a very successful day and I’d heartily recommend anyone interested in castles or gardens to visit.  HD blipped from the interior courtyard about the interesting guide we encountered so I won’t repeat that.
My (back)blip is from the gardens. I’m not such a fan of formal gardens but I really enjoyed this garden with it’s views and variety. I found the particular arrangement of formal garden, thatched garden and woodland in this image very pleasing.  The thatched building is the hawk house, built as a conservatory in 1854 but converted after WWI to house hawks and falcons. That is when the beautiful thatched roof was added.
As mentioned this is a backblip and today's 10 October blip will be loaded up shortly

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.