Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Demise of the Footpath?

I have a fear that the days of walking over footpaths near where we live may be numbered.  I've been aware for sometime that there is a circular route from our house taking canal footpaths linked by a footpath that crosses farmland.  All summer I've made attempts along this route, but have been thwarted by an impenetrable barrier of brambles, brash, nettles and other weeds.  

I tried again today and this time, with difficulty, I managed to penetrate the undergrowth and reach my goal.  Even after passing through the overgrown areas, there was the added challenge of crossing the hedges and fences between fields.  Where once there were stiles to use these are now in a state of disrepair, or so rickety you take your life in your hands trying to climb over.  

This looked the best, but the top step wobbles uncontrollably.  Even worse there is a small footbridge over a steam on the other side missing wooden slats, made more dangerous as it is overgrown and difficult to see.  Just past here I bumped in to a farm worker and we got chatting.  he knows me from my early morning photography.  He told me that the stiles are supposed to be maintained by the County Council, but whereas they used to do regular maintenance and keep the hedgerows cut back around them, they haven't been seen for some years.  Even when they did some work on a new stile it was constructed so poorly the bull managed to get through the gap, into the heifer field beyond.  He was one happy bull!

When you realise that the central government financial support for local authorities has been reduced by 37% between 2011 and 2016, is it any wonder?  Difficult decisions have to be made and the 'CInderella' services have been cut back savagely.  If you are making a decision between a new stile or funding someone's care, it is difficult to justify any other choice.  I worked in local government for almost 40 years and the last 10 have been by far the most difficult in terms of funding to carry out the work that has been so much a cornerstone of civic responsibility.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.