Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Parkhouse Hill Mists

The day was forecast as being one of the warmest and sunniest in October in recent history.  I'd got a half-baked idea that if I woke up early enough I'd head to the Peak District to see what dawn would bring.  Well I woke at 5 am and was in position near Hollinsclough before dawn.  I'd already stopped three times coming into the Upper Dove Valley to capture images of the mist lying across the fields.

I was late getting into this position.  I could see three photographers, two on Chrome Hill and one on the summit of Parkhouse Hill while I was still walking towards the hills. Luckily at this time of year the sunrise aligns with the two hills, providing a late 'sunrise'.  I was quite envious of the two photographers I met and chatted to; both of them live close to the Peak District and don't have the jaunt I'd had just to get to the area.  It was truly worth the effort.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.