Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Authentic

A day after the event I can perhaps bring a little perspective to events.

Disappointed? Yes, as Wales, who needed to win to to reach a head to head play off for qualification for next summer's World Cup finals in Russia, went down to a single Irish goal.

Surprise? Not really. Partly because the two teams are fairly evenly matched and a draw was no use to anyone. And partly because for all the years that I've been following the Welsh national team, back into the 1970s, there have been a string of almosts and might have beens when it comes to qualifying for major tournaments. Notwithstanding the exploits of Euro 2016, this is what I'm used to.

And so my "I was there" moment is an authentic one. For the first time, I was there for that final, deciding qualification fixture. Not listening on the radio as has been the case for most of my life, but there. I sang the songs, I cheered on the team, but it wasn't to be.

No more World Cup dreams until Qatar 2022. And (I might as well get in there early) who wants to go and play in stadiums built on the blood and abuse of migrant workers anyway. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.