I believe...

I was stopped in the street 10 mins ago by a fresh faced young American, who asked, very politely, had I time for a chat? Being a carefree sort of guy, I wanted to say yes, but on seeing his black badge proclaiming him to be a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (Mormons), I said, probably better not. In amazement he asked me why. I said I am a Christian and comfortable in my own personal faith. He responded that he too was a Christian and began to explain this belief beginning when Jesus visited America after his resurrection. At that point I said, I am happy that you have found something to believe in, so have I. We will agree to disagree on many points, so probably better we shake hands and move on. Which he did, to the next two passers by. We are often in danger of believing that opinions, when strongly held, become facts. In short they don't. They remain opinions. When shared as such they can enrich relationships and increase understanding. When they are held out to be fact, things used to batter, belittle and sideline the opinions of others they diminish the one who holds them as well as his/her cause. All are entitled to hold opinions and advance those in discussion. What is not acceptable is to claim that only we are right!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.