Marcescent

Emergency blip from me, the light was failing and I'd only got spider images which aren't very blipfoto friendly. I've recently started following Robert Macfarlane on Twitter, mainly for his word of the day. Yesterday's was, "marcescent of a leaf; withering but not falling off. Figuratively, therefore, to fade but not fail."

I took MrQ for an appointment at the eye unit. He says the word describes him. Looks like our field maple is affected by the tar spot fungus that thebear recently blipped on sycamore

Today's poem is I do not Speak by Stevie Smith. http://www.sanjeev.net/poetry/smith-stevie/i-do-not-speak-180208.html


I'm fond of Stevie Smith's poetry. She suffered with depression, not surprisingly as she had chronic physical illness and family issues. In this poem she acknowledges her mental suffering but rises above it and is even strengthened by it.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.