Of Leaves and Lichen

Dear Diary,

When I went out to the mailbox this large grape vine leaf was awaiting me, laying perfectly on the stone wall, just begging to be photographed, so naturally I obliged.  Unfortunately, there are not very many wild grapes this year for the birds to harvest...an off year I guess.  The apples have made up for it.  The last time Matt was here we picked buckets of them and scattered them along the edge of the field for the deer.  They love them.  They need to fatten up for the hard winter months to come.

I like lichen...there, I've said it.  The rock walls are spotted with it and I love the look of it.  Unfortunately, it has decided to grow on my roof as well.  I supposed that will have to be dealt with at some point.  Matt will be here in a few hours to work on the cutting back and other fall chores.  I want to try and help him but my back is acting up so we'll see how much "help" I'll be.

There was a little visitor on the horse tie-up by the mailbox, extra photo.  This grasshopper is a bit late in the season but I liked the way he blended into the lichen covered stone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.