Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Early morning in Bushy Park

I woke up with Gavin's alarm at 5.10am this morning and could not get back to sleep - I checked the weather app on my phone and it looked like we were in for a good sunrise, so I got up and decided to head off to Bushy Park to see the stags at sunrise.

The sunrise was not great - a bit of a damp squib really - and there were hardly any stags or people around. I decided to go back home for breakfast when I heard some stags roaring and then spent the next 30 minutes following two stags around. It was so mild and warm, I barely needed a jacket - no mist, no frosty air and steamy breath from the roaring stags - all a bit disappointing! I eventually went home for breakfast.

This weekend we are getting a heatwave! In the true technical sense of the word where the temperature will rise to about 5C above the usual temperatures for the time of year. I was actually looking forward to the cold autumn misty mornings but we have not had too many of those yet.

I am enjoying Black Lake on BBC4, is anyone else watching this Swedish/Danish thriller?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.