Incoherent

Up very early to head to London for three meetings.

I walked from Euston to Farringdon for meeting Number 1. Then I walked from Farringdon to City Hall for meetings 2 and 3. My mind is still buzzing from the discussions, lots of food for thought.

The view from City Hall is spectacular. Tower Bridge, the Tower of London, and HMS Belfast. But the City has developed in a really incoherent way, with some truly awful new buildings. The “Walkie Talkie” is the most out of scale modern building I know, jarring with all its (not especially good) neighbours. The City of London deserved a lot better.

I have added some extras. Warrington Town Hall and it’s golden gates looked good in the pre-dawn. At St Pancras I sorted out a birthday card for a niece. And after the terrorist attack earlier this year London Bridge now has a barrier along it on both sides, and at each end. People were scuttling along it hopefully feeling a lot safer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.