Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Wooden face

A couple of weeks ago I made a blip of one of the many faces tucked around Winchester Cathedral.  That one was made of stone.  Here is another carved from wood.

In one of the chapels at the east end of the building there are pairs of figures on either side of each entry point to the pews.  Each pair consists of one churchman (and they are all men, of course) and one townsman.  This is a townsman.  He is about 9cm high.  A very characterful face, don't you think?   And almost impossible to blip under the cathedral's restrictions: no flash and no tripods!

That's me for today.  I'm really sorry, I've turned off my comments again.  I am still battling extreme tiredness - it just happens to me sometimes.  Hopefully they'll be on again very soon.

Have a great evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.