My secondhand new toy

Went to Glasgow today to look at cameras. My 11-year-old Nikon D50 has a mirror problem and the catch for the flash has also broken, so I thought it time to replace it. 

I'd spent countless hours on the Net, looking at reviews and then asking friends in the Photo Club, but couldn't come to a conclusion. Every owner and reviewer has a different point of view and a different use for the camera and I got nowhere.

Eventually I found a place in Glasgow called Calumet Photographic - just changed their name to Wex Photographic, as one does - and they told me that on Saturday they would have a Nikon expert in the shop, so that's where I went today.

When I explained that I was just a keen amateur and was looking for an updated, but fairly basic camera, he suggested that I buy a good used one and recommended a D7100 that happened to be in the cabinet. It was just on the edge of my financial limit so when I spotted a D7000, the previous model, on the shelf above it for £200 less I asked about it. He immediately said that had he known it was there he would have thought that better suited to my needs - after all, I didn't really need WiFi! The fact that he was keen to sell me a cheaper camera made me feel that this was a genuine suggestion. So I bought it, and he told me that if I had serious doubts about it in the next couple of weeks he would refund the purchase price and find me another one. I'm impressed with the manual - 325 pages long and all in English! So fingers crossed, this will be the last Blip from my Sony bridge!

Oh, the Blip! I paid a visit to rather gloomy Glasgow Botanic Garden on the way home and took a few pictures both inside and out. This one is of one of my favourite trees and a wonderful specimen in its own right. It's Kalopanax pictus, a very hardy and picturesque tree in the ivy family from far eastern Asia, growing beside the famous Kibble Palace. You can see its foliage and fruit here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.