Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Funnel (I think)

A walk through the wood and what did I see?  Trooping funnels in a leaf filled ditch under a beech bush.  As I'd put a post on FB asking about some fungi I'd photographed on a previous foray I's gone to see if there was any evidence of them still being around today.  But alas not.  Fortunately I did scoop a prize in the form of these funnels that were quite numerous and large enough to spot easily.  I don't usually walk along this path, so quite fortuitous.

I walked back along the top path which undulates dramatically as it follows the contours of early coal mining pits. (It's now enjoyed by local bike riding youth).   I remember learning about the early mining that happened along the edge of the Pennines in geography and at that time it never occurred to me that I'd live within walking distance.  It was all deep mining where I grew up.  My grandad came back from the first world war and found work in the Glasshoughton Colliery.  He was a miner most of his life until invalided out when I was a child.  They said it was tuberculosis though it turned out to be pneumoconiosis.  He died before the government got around to paying out compensation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.