Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Spring and autumn?

What a beautiful weekend, it is so warm it feels like spring going in to summer. When I saw this daisy amongst the fallen leaves I thought it summed up the confused seasons very well.

Today I actually started thinking about and planning Christmas. I know, it seems so far away but all the supermarkets already have Christmas fare in their stores, and the big department store in Kingston already has set up their Christmas department complete with an in-your-face selection of Christmas decorations, trees, cards and gifts...there is no escaping it. When I was a child I loved the excitement of Christmas, which kid doesn't love the idea of presents and Christmas trees, but as an adult it just stresses me out and I feel all twitchy about it from October onwards. The only way to cope with that is to be organised! So today I booked my delivery slot from Waitrose and ordered my Christmas food. Then I actually ordered one present for someone. There, I have made a start!

Three of us have passports expiring soon so that was the next job to tackle. I have managed to fill out Adam's forms (which I got him to sign yesterday) and now I need to do the others. 

Gavin is currently out teaching Thomas to drive. He turns 17 in January and he cannot wait to get his driving licence, so they are practising in a quiet office car park where there are no cars around and he can practice his parking, which he seems to have now mastered. I must apply for his provisional driving licence so that he can get out on the roads with a qualified driving instructor, and Gavin on the weekends. There is no way I will get in the car to teach him, I am far too nervous of someone else driving and I will be no good for him. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.