Project Phoenix

Panshanger Aerodrome, near Welwyn Garden City, was closed three years ago because the land was sold to developers. I was among the many upset by the fact. I used to love to visit to attend wonderful, beautifully organised, events like The Revival or just to turn up when I fancied togging planes. My son worked there as a flying instructor and my husband remembers flying from Panshanger in the 50s in a friend's Auster and finding a Mosquito wing in one of the hangars.

A group of clever people, including Sue and Haim who used to run the aerodrome and are very experienced in aviation, have formed Project Phoenix in the hope of opening the aerodrome again as a community resource. It always was very family-friendly and non-elitist.

When I heard of the launch of the Project I offered to help. I found myself today at the local shopping centre, dressed in the tee shirt above accosting shoppers (not my usual style) to ask them if they think the re-opening is a good idea and if so to sign up to that effect. The response was quite touching and overwhelming. Most people miss the aerodrome and would love for it to rise from the ashes. In my experience light aviation is a force for good. I've seen how when children are exposed to planes and pilots it fosters interest in STEM subjects. I do hope the Project is successful.  

I lolled at myself in the mirror of the loo when I noticed that my glasses match the shirt. 

Today's poem is Listen by Iain Crichton Smith. http://medusaskitchen.blogspot.co.uk/2006/06/worlds-minefield.html (Scrolling down required.)

I'm tired and afraid I don't get this beyond the grave verse. "winged nightingales of brine"? :( 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.