Eerie skies

Everything went a bit yellow this afternoon, and the sky went dramatically dark, with the Saharan dust blown in by storm Ophelia.  A few of us at work stepped outside the front door to take a look - and then a colleague and I walked down the road to try and see the sun, which was hidden behind some buildings.  I still had my mug of coffee in my hand, and the weather was weirdly balmy - it all felt very odd and dreamlike, with a sepia tone to everything.  Didn't manage to track the sun down, so headed back to the office.

I went back to my desk, but I was so frustrated to be missing the eerie sights outside, I decided after a while to run back out with my camera.  Nipped up onto the Barbican highwalk - where else?! - and grabbed a few shots before going back to my desk again.

I've over-processed this somewhat, but it was so hard to capture exactly what I was seeing, and this looks how it felt to me, if that makes sense - a bit surreal and dreamlike.

I also went down to the river after work, as it was low tide again.  Got a few shots down there, too, but my shot of the day had to be of the odd afternoon sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.