Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Gory Story

This morning we caught up with another couple of old friends and then I plucked up my courage to face the road north on the coat-tails of Storm Ophelia. But by the time I got to the M6 the wind had more or less died, and once I'd crossed the border the sun actually came out.

I stopped at Carlenrigg to take some pictures. Johnnie Armstrong, one of the nastiest of the Border Reivers (cattle thieves and worse) was buried there, after being hanged from a tree by King James the Fifth. Well, I don't suppose James actually strung him up personally. It's the subject of ballads and all happened a long time ago.

The churchyard has a great variety of lichens growing on the walls, tombstones and trees. This hawthorn bush is nearly smothered, but has managed to produce a few haws, and they are my effort for Tiny Tuesday. Thanks to WRPerry for hosting the challenge.

TM is staying on a bit  at M and K's. 

K has had a little set-back, and  C is off school with hand, foot and mouth disease (I think that's what it's called, sounds like something farm animals get.)

Bad timing, but hopefully it won't be for long.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.