Well Hello!

I nearly fell off my chair this afternoon when this wonderful Monitor Lizard decided to call by for a drink at the Billabong. I was chatting to one of my golf buddies on the mobile outside on the patio when I sensed a presence on my left hand side. To my amazement, the lizard calmly walked past me and made its way to the water tank. They have called by before but usually I've been inside and seen them through the glass window.

Needless to say I hung up on my friend and raced inside to get the zoom lens. You don't get this opportunity every day of the week. Poor Roz. I ended up ringing her back three times and hanging up before the lizard retreated and we could finish our conversation :-)

I'm so happy he felt safe enough to stand on his hind legs and take his time to have a drink.

I have added a couple of extra images. One as the lizard sums up the logistics of having a drink and one of him having a big gulp. Oh and how about that tongue!! I have absolutely no idea how old the lizard would be by I just love the folds on his neck. I estimate he would be at least 2 metres from the tip of his tale to the tip of his nose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.