QUILT

Its been a rainy cold day today and I haven't left the house.  As I mentioned yesterday I did have an appointment at the vets for Lily this afternoon.  Yet again I was unable to get her into the cat carrier.  When I was ready to do the deed she seemed to sense what I was up to and wouldn't let me near her.  Clever cat.  So I had to phone the vet and cancel again - and make yet another appointment for tomorrow.  Decided on a morning appointment - maybe the timing will be better.  Hope so. ( Luckily the vets aren't bothered by me cancelling and re-booking appointments.  They say I can continue to do it until I finally get Lily there.  I guess they know what cats are like )

I have been catching  up with my TV viewing. Watching episodes of Liar back to back.  I'm finally on the last one. I've really enjoyed this series - the acting has been great..

Had a phone call this evening from Neil.  Well I thought it was a phone call until I answered it - and Neil appeared - with me in a little box in the corner of the screen.  He was on Facebook Video Chat ( never even heard of it before today ) He was in the hotel room and showed me all around.  They had been upgraded to a suite with a four poster bed when the hotel found out that the stay was a birthday treat for Rachael.

35 years ago today I gave birth to my first child  Rebecca Maeve ( aka Becky ). I have put a baby photo in the Extras together with a photo taken today in Porto where she and Mike are on holiday.

The Abstract Thursday challenge today is " patterns".  I took the easy option and have blipped a recent purchase - an Indian Handmade Embroidered Floral Paisley Kantha Quilt. I was encouraged to buy it after seeing this QUILT  on blip friend  PhoebThickpenny's journal. 

Kantha  is a type of embroidery typical of Eastern South Asia  - especially West Bengal and Bangladesh. "Kantha saris" are traditionally worn by women in Bengal. Kantha stitching is also used to make simple quilts commonly known as Nakshi Kantha.  There are vintage quilts around that you can buy ( like PhoebThickpenny's ) but I got a ( cheaper ) modern one.  Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting the challenge.

Steps today - 3,513 ( pathetic )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.