Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Calle Almagro y Cárdenas

Today I decided to try to find a Spanish fishing village, Pedregalejo, to the east of Malaga. The bus conveniently stopped outside our hotel. What wasn't so easy was to know when I had arrived, because the suburbs are continuous.

When I alighted I was in El Palo, but I did not know it then! I wandered around and found a delightful street of houses. Many residents had put plant pots outside their doors, with chairs and tables, to extend their living area. The houses were beautifully painted and decorated, many with intricate tiles.

As time went by, my presence was noted; first by the dogs and later by a few residents. That gave me the opportunity to photograph them as well as their houses. This is one of them. He had no internet so I could not send him the photo. (I also did not notice the likeness you see in the photo or the light in the background...........)

I stopped in a café for lunch where my lack of Spanish made life difficult. I was rescued by Barbara, an English resident of the place. She and her husband retired here 3 years ago, but sadly he died in February and she is packing up and returning to her home town of Watford. She ordered food for me and we shared a table and chat over our lunch.

It was Barbara who told me where I was  (!) and gave me good advice about the return buses (including reminding me to go to the other side of the road.....).

Later I photographed in the local cemetery. Also very interesting.

Then I returned to the city centre. I had a glass of delicious white wine on the roof terrace of a large department store, but could not see enough of the city, so I opted for a trip on the giant wheel. That was well worth it with spectacular views as the sun started to set.

9 of us had a riotous meal out. The food was superb and we laughed a lot, finally returning to our hotel after midnight. (Very little alcohol was consumed of course.)

I hope you have enjoyed this back blip.

See extra image without the light bulb.

I found the actual street on Google maps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.