A Little Peace

One of the first things OilMan did when we got home again was fill the bird feeders. I don't know where the birds went, but there were very few around here. It rained last night and the birdbath, which doesn't usually have water in it was filled to the brim. I looked out the window this morning and a large bluejay was standing in the middle, puffed up to twice his size and throwing water over himself with abandon, his wings whirring and flitting to keep the spray aloft. He was eventually joined by another bird which I couldn't recognize because it was so puffy. Their relief and joy at being able to wash off all the dust and ash and soot, as I was doing inside, was palpable.

The next time I looked out the birdbath was filled with finches, puffing their red and gold breasts, and spraying water everywhere. This time I put down my disinfectant wipes and gloves and watched them, enchanted.They must have had a tough time with all the smoke since even all the humans seem to be coughing and feeling exhausted. What must these tiny creatures be feeling? They are so tiny and so resilient, yet seem to be taking such pleasure from this unexpected pool of water. I must remember to keep it filled as well.

Spring Lake is still closed, so I took Ozzie up Los Alamos Road. As I stood looking at the hills looking just as they always do and breathing deeply of the newly washed air a Calfire truck came down the hill. My eyes filled with tears as I waved madly to the firefighters inside. There were a lot of them, young and undoubtedly exhausted, but they smiled and waved and flashed their lights as they drove by.  I wished they could stop their truck and get out and I could hug each sooty one of them. I didn't care who they were or where they came from, they were my heroes. I am still a bit unhinged, but I'm sure my eyes will fill with tears of pure gratitude every time I think of them for a long time to come.

I think they enjoy the gratitude and well deserved recognition. The mutual respect and admiration between total strangers is a wonderful feeling. I'm sure there is a lesson here...in an emergency, there is no judgement....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.