Eye aye

SQUIRE TRELAWNEY, Dr. Livesey, and the rest of these gentlemen having asked me to write down the whole particulars about Treasure Island, from the beginning to the end, keeping nothing back but the bearings of the island, and that only because there is still treasure not yet lifted, I take up my pen in the year of grace 17__ and go back to the time when my father kept the Admiral Benbow inn and the brown old seaman with the sabre cut first took up his lodging under our roof.

As expected, I sleep poorly on the train. Shortly after five, I give up, turn off my pink noise generator, and catch up on some reading. Not long after, a nice man brings me orange juice, tea, and a hot breakfast. I don't normally eat in the morning, but it's hard to turn down "free" food.

The train pulls into Euston and I walk through a grey, damp, early morning London to mum's flat, where I shower and get ready for the day. It's still early, so I walk to Victoria - a pleasant journey down Portland Place and Regent St, through St James Park , and down Regency Road. The church of All Saints has a bloom of tents on its stone apron - a more civilised form of homelessness than the man unconscious outside St James Palace (although he had taken his boots off before falling asleep).

I'm speaking at Agile Tour London, but not until the graveyard slot in the afternoon, so I get to catch up with old friends, attend interesting sessions, and rearrange my talk. At midday, as the battery level heads towards zero, I realise my power supply is still fitted with a US plug. Luckily the venue has a spare cable that they can lend me.

Despite my session being at half four on a Friday, I get a good crowd. The room is stuffy - no aircon for London - and no matter where I stand I seem to be in the way of the screen. The new structure for the talk works better, and I get some good questions, but it needs a bit more tinkering before it's ready for prime time.

I retrace my steps, collecting an excellent fish and chips on the way. I get a piece of cheesecake and some ice cream at the Coop. I'm in bed before nine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.