Little Old Lady EB

A day of remembrance today, a day to pause and ponder, to give thanks for the blessings of those we have and have had in our lives.
Today we went to scatter Little Old Lady's ashes at the Rose Garden of Anfield Cemetery. I don't think it's somewhere any of the family would readily choose to spend our final rest, but for Mollie it was where her husband's and, oh so sadly her 2 year old daughter's, the sister my wife never knew, ashes were scattered .To Mollie it was a special place, where she wanted to be, and obviously that's more than enough.

In many many ways it was a poignant day.

As far as the eye could see there were memorials, it is a huge sprawling cemetery. Within a dozen feet of where we stood were more remembrances than our village cemetery has ever seen, everywhere people stood heads bowed.
To hear how C's parents were so distraught at the loss of their infant daughter Elspeth that they didn't know where her final resting place was for many years, then Mollies search and the solace of finally finding her, a near impossible thing to imagine.

It's good now to spend time with my extended family, we had a lovely chattering lunch, but with an eye on the weather and yours truly beginning to fade we all too soon had to go. Headed North, South and East we drove* home racing the arrival of Brian.
Realising I'd not taken a picture all day I knew another Little Old Lady who'd oblige.

*I drove! Rather easy as Prince is an automatic, so no left foot required. It kinda represents a step forward, except wherever I might drive myself now I could only walk about 20m when I got there, but still it felt good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.