The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Buckthorn

In the half-light of the early morning, or late in the day as the light is falling, or in the afternoon when clammy fog descends on the hills, when there are few walkers and their dogs, the Knott is inhabited by other less familiar creatures. Here we see the pied fox of Arnside, sitting statuesque on the pillar of Councillor Lawson's memorial seat. Sometimes I see the Arnside Bigfoot streaking across my line of vision as I squint through the viewfinder into the rising sun on misty mornings. The Bigfoot still eludes my camera, but I promise that one day I will capture an image and share it here. Prepare to be shocked and amazed.

On more mundane matters, here is an update following our rendezvous at the hospital in Lancaster. Progress is formally declared to be good, I am out of the danger zone for the more aggressive infections. I remain susceptible to viruses, but that should improve with time. The big test will be, as expected, in January when the post-treatment bone marrow biopsy follow-up is done. This will determine whether another round of treatment is required or whether I am in remission. In the meantime, I continue to get fitter and stronger. As I feel better, it becomes apparent just how far down the slope I had unknowingly slid slowly but inexorably over the last couple of years. This is a time of renewal, when possibilities begin to bud and blossom again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.