The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Murmurings

Though there is not a bird in sight in this photo, it has been quite a birdy day. But before I elaborate on that, there are what could pass for two pairs of ears in this photo, though only one of them belongs to a living thing - the Arnside Pied Fox.

On our morning walk over the Knott, as we were coming down the diagonal path, I heard what sounded like wind suddenly rising. I looked up and there was a huge flock of starlings going overhead, and when I say huge, I mean thousands. It's a long time since I've seen and photographed a murmuration of any size. Of course I didn't have a camera with me, and in any event it was a flock in directional flight rather than the wheeling and pulsing flocks that come into their communal roosts. 

When I got home, Wifie called me to look out of our upstairs window. There was a female sparrowhawk in the tree in our neighbour's garden, she paused there for several minutes. Not long enough, alas, to get a sharp photograph. I wonder if she has found the starling roost yet.

Knowing that there is not a big roost at Leighton Moss at the moment, It was to try and get an idea of where the roost currently is that I went to the top of the Knott again at sunset (when this was taken looking through the pines to Morecambe Bay). On the opposite side of the hill, looking west to Silverdale Moss, we saw the murmuration in the distance and far below us over the reedbeds there.  So an evening visit is being planned, access to the site is limited and hence it may be difficult to get a good photograph, but  it will be worth a try.

My apologies that I am behind with comments and thank you for the hearts and stars for the back blip that I posted earlier. I think I have done a bit too much today, and am a little weary now. An early night is in order.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.