The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The North Pier, Oban

Shot in the murky half-light, when it was either about to rain or had just finished raining.

I went into town with my sister Kate, who was going to work, and pootled around the charity shops until my mother rang to say she'd reached the centre, and we walked rather slowly to a cafe for lunch. After that there were various errands to run, until it was time to meet Kate. Then the fishmonger at the harbour was closed, so we had to go back to the supermarket...

Meanwhile, Steve had been out on the beach photographing birds, but came in to make a fabulous fish pie, which we ate for supper with the help of my other sister Mouse's family as well as Kate and Jezzie. Then we watched the DVD of Beauty and the Beast (2017) which I had ordered because I wanted Jezzie to see it. Oh, and I also bought her a Pavarotti CD from.a charity shop, because the other night after we'd been to the Scottish Opera highlights tour, she asked if opera CDs were a thing. Mouse said she often finds herself singing Nessun Dorma while cleaning toilets. She wasn't joking. How do you explain to a ten year old that an aria became famous because of a football world cup?

I haven't even blipped the opera night, I've realised. I'm getting behind, as I always do on holiday. Tomorrow we leave for Perthshire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.