The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Pembrokeshire coastal path

...Tenby to Manorbier

I had the weather for it! The route involves a fair amount of ascent and descent, but the views are the reward. There are three firing ranges, which is disconcerting, especially as one had signs up warning of shooting this week.

I saw no seals, not choughs, but I didn't bring my binoculars...I did, however, realise anew the value to me of coastal walking. It's been too long since I did any: three years ago, in Cornwall, when we rented a caravan from HerbSusan, and Steve was out of action owing to a knee injury, I walked a great deal, and took the bus from time to time.

Someone I met mentioned that she was staying at the youth hostel at Skrinkle. I wondered why I'd never thought of youth hostelling since I was 20. Could it be to do with the sexual harassment and assaults I experienced in or near the hostels in Spain in the 1980s? Time to reconsider. I hear the hostels are better these days, and not strictly for the youths. Spain is more liberated, too.

Google Maps was no help to me on this journey. However, I did reach the village of Manorbier within a mere four hours of leaving Tenby, and rewarded myself with a drink and a huge salmon salad in the garden of a friendly cafe. Then I discovered that I'd just missed a bus, so pootled around the village, looked at the castle from the outside, bought a bar of chocolate...

Eventually, when I'd grown chilled in the wind, the bus arrived and took me back to Tenby. Back at the B&B, the sore throat and possible cold symptoms are not improving. Early night again. No last-night ghost walk for me: it's cold out there!

However, for sheer exhilaration and mindfulness, I'd do it all over again. Maybe I will tomorrow, with variations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.