Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Ravilious biography

This is part of a double-page spread in today’s ‘i’ newspaper heralding the publication at the beginning of November of a new book of James Ravilious’ images and a biography of him written by his widow, Robin.  If you don’t know the photos, they are exquisite.  James had photographer’s expertise and an artist’s eye.  He was after all a son of Eric Ravilious, so why would he not?  You can see more of his photos here
 
This is the part of North Devon I know so well from long childhood summers, and Robin and James are family, so (with Jax) V and I had lunch at The Bell today and raised a glass to them both.  It brings a lump to my throat as I write this (but then maybe I’m tired from yesterday).
 
Have a lovely evening, dear blippers  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.