The Spire

I went to see another Orthopaedic Surgeon today, this time at The Spire Montefiore Hospital in Hove. I’d been referred to him for the Shock Wave Therapy on my Achilles, however, on examination he said it appears that my calf muscle is too tight and is the route cause of my Achilles’ tendon problem.

He said I could have the shock wave therapy but even if it worked, it would be temporary. So he suggested I have surgery in the form of a ‘left medial gastrocnemius release’. This surgery lengthens the calf muscle, therefore easing the Achilles, and he says that I should be back on my feet in a couple of weeks.

I spoke to one of our physiotherapists at work, who knows the surgeon, and said she’s had patients who have had this procedure done and it works very well. She also said the my surgeon is very good and knows what he’s talking about.

I spoke to my insurance company, who have approved it, so it looks like I’m going ahead! To be honest, after 6 months of pain, I’m willing to try anything and with working for a doctor at least they understand what’s involved. So I’ll call his secretary tomorrow and get an appointment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.