Breakey Blips

By ElizabethB

The silliest idea

It is curious, the bizarre ideas that find their way into books.
Whilst searching a backwoods ( how to cook over a fire with no pots or pans) cooking book, I came across this method of cooking bacon.
Place bacon in a brown paper bag, attach it to a stick with a string, then jiggle over the coals.
It worked, and it didn't ignite. How funny!

My fellow scout leaders gufffawed around me, and then (almost) contritely accepted some cooked bacon.


We had a challenge to find for the younger scouts, who were struggling to wait patiently for their food to cook, so after I exhausted the idea of a (human) food pyramid (carbs on the bottom), I gave them their own bacon in a bag to cook.
That kept the naughties busy for just long enough!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.