Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Gardening

Today’s picture might not look as though I did much work in the garden, but this section looks a lot better than it did. I took some before pictures, but they did not come out very well; the camera was on the wrong setting! However, I have included one picture as an extra, which shows the Golden Rod before I started; the Forsythia is not in this picture. I did not get as much done as I had hoped, but cut down the Golden Rod and gave one of our Forsythias a haircut; I also tied back some Rosemary bushes, which were overhanging the small pond. I can now see across the garden better especially when I am looking through the kitchen window. I had hoped to trim another forsythia and then do the Roses in the front border. However, after an hour and a half, my back was hurting so much that I had to stop.
 
The Roses are still flowering so there is no rush to prune them back. I usually do them in the Spring, but this year I did not, so they are rather straggly. I did fill all the water bowls, which are dotted about the garden, as well as the birdbath; the deer drink from it as well as from the various sized bowls on the ground for smaller animals. I also filled the feeders and did some other minor jobs before coming indoors to cook lunch.
   
If you want to see me in action, tying up the Rosemary, look here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.