Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...A Misty Morning Walk

I know, something different and NOT a warbler! Just felt like something different today. When I woke up, the first thing I saw when I looked out back was 13 wild turkeys (two hens co-raised their two broods here this summer) faffing about. Then it struck me that it was very foggy and misty - which I love! So, I threw on clothes, hiking boots and a light fleece, grabbed my camera with teh 18-200 lens and headed out to Kittatinny. I went specifically to photograph this spot because it is one of my favorite places to contemplate life. I also did some shots in black and white but I like this one better.

The trail through the woods was deserted - just me, a couple of deer, and some birds. And have you ever noticed how quiet it is in the fog?

The leaves are starting to change so I stopped along the route to snap some pictures of the glorious colors. I came across a small flock of tiny ruby crowned kinglets feeding on insects in the brush along the trail - wrong lens, so I just stood quietly and watched them. They are incredibly busy little birds, so I'm not sure I would have gotten a decent photo anyway! I even came across a late-season sleepy bumble bee clinging to a flower.

All in all, a lovely way to start the day! Back on Tallyho, chipmunks were out in full force, demanding to be fed. My neighbor stopped over for tea and was delighted to have MitsyBoo take peanuts from her hand. MistyBoo, of course, was delighted too - anything to do with food delights her!

I am off to the farm to try to get those sunflower heads, as well as some fresh lima beans. If you've never had fresh lima beans, I suggest trying to find some - they are fantastic! And nothing like the dried or frozen ones. I'm going to fix them along with some grilled salmon and broccoli for dinner tonight.

I wanted to take a moment to wish three special blippers congratulations today - MollyBlobs blipped her 730th blip today and Solli posted her 365th, and NatureLover just blipped her 300th! Congrats to three talented photographers and wonderful people!

And by the way, the injured chickadee is doing well. I consulted a rehabber who, after gathering some info and looking at several pictures, believes that it is a soft-tissue injury and will self-heal. I'm keeping an eye on the chickadee for a few days, but it appears to be getting along fine.

Happy Thursday, Blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.