Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Welcome home, Big Daddy!

Exactly one week after I boxed Big Daddy (Tamron 200-500mm lens) up and dropped him off at the post office, repairs are complete and we are now getting re-acquainted. And not a moment too soon since this is the sight that greeted me when I walked out on the deck this afternoon! Couldn't have gotten this without the long lens as they were all the way at the bottom of our property by the woods. As it was, I had to crop this a bit. And moments after I took this (and about 50 other shots), both of them disappeared into the woods.

These are white-tailed deer, a doe and her fawn. The fawn is probably about 4 months old now, and has lost its spots, but is still quite a bit smaller than its mother. I liked this particular shot because they were both looking right at me, seeming to assess how dangerous I might be. If they only knew...they've nothing at all to fear from me.

I'm very happy to have Big Daddy back - it's definitely my favorite lens. And now I'm ready for whatever comes my way! And I posted four other pictures on Flickr, starting HERE - a few more shots of the deer and a goldfinch.

Thank you for all the lovely comments about Lemmy and her kid yesterday! I saw them both out there today, too, sitting on the wall surveying the yard. And hopefully keeping a sharp eye out for the neighbor's cats!

Hubs is having a great time at Watkins Glen. He's instructing today (people who are training to get a racing license) which he really enjoys. Tomorrow the racing will begin ... vroom, vroom.

Tomorrow morning I'm joining the Audubon folks for a nature walk; then Kura will be coming out from NYC around noon to spend the weekend. There will be Prosecco flowing freely tomorrow evening!

Ciao,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.