Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Double take

That is what I did when I glanced at the rock wall and saw not one, but TWO sets of furry little faces looking back at me! The only conclusion I can make is that Lemmy had a second brood this summer. How fun is that???

Eastern chipmunks are not social creatures, only coming together briefly to mate. Babies born late in the summer may spend the winter with their mother before going off to seek their own fame and fortune. The fact that these two were so close together means that they are either juvenile siblings or mother and offspring.

Earlier in the summer, Lemmy made regular trips to our patio to get peanuts, but we haven't seen her out back in several months. And now I think I know why - apparently she has been raising her brood. Frankly, I'm glad she isn't making that long trip anymore since the neighbor's cats are forever lurking, looking for things to kill. Hubs and I both deliver peanuts to Lemmy's rock wall - much safer although not as much fun for us.

Hubs is leaving for Watkins Glen this afternoon for the last race of the season. Much excitement. He will be instructing tomorrow and then racing Saturday and Sunday. And, if he finishes in the top 3 on Sunday, there will be a little bit of money coming his way (about enough to buy one race tire...)

In other news, I ordered a new Kindle which arrived today - I got the Paperwhite Gen 2 which has back lighting built in. Much more convenient for those nights when I wake up and can't get back to sleep - this way I won't have to turn the light on and distube hubs' sleep. I'll be gifting my old Kindle Keyboard to a friend.

Thanks for the hearts, comments and stars on little Spotty yesterday! And, hopefully I'll get caught up with comments one of these days...

ciao,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.