Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Another Warbler Day

Fall is turning out to be my new favorite season - I am still seeing migrant warblers, including this new (for me) young black-throated green warbler! It flew in while the chickadees and titmice were swarming the feeders and perched long enough for me to snap off a bunch of shots. Then, the "fun" of trying to identify it started - I had it narrowed down to two choices and finally send several of the images off to my birder-guru who gave me the final verdict. Anyway, isn't it a pretty little thing? I also saw a black-throated blue warbler and what I am 90% was a blackburnian warbler (a first for me). Another shot of the black-throated green HERE

I spent a good part of the day trying to catch a sick house finch but no luck. I am going to go out again towards dusk and see if I have better luck. It still sees well enough to fly off when I get close. Here's a shot of one of the healthy house finches, looking as if to say what the Hell are you looking at???

I also spotted an inured chickadee today, which is very concerning. As you can see, it is holding one foot up and this went on all day. I watched it feed and it seemed to be doing okay, but if the leg still looks like this tomorrow I will call Giselle the rehabber and discuss whether I should try to capture it and bring it to her. I am not sure if this one is one of the parents or one of this year's chicks - not that it matters. Poor little thing.

In happier news, the Titmice were in the flowers and posing for close ups and one of the chipmunks played in the flower pot. Several epic chippie battles erupted on the patio but I was not quick enough to capture any of it on camera. Suffice it to say, tempers are flaring!

Thank you all so very much for sending my black and white and wonderful warbler to the spotlight - what a thrill! I appreciate you not get tired of the endless birds and wildlife. :)

Today was another rainy, dreary day. I'm ready to call it an early evening and curl up with a good book and perhaps a glass of wine. And my hubs, of course!

Happy Hump Day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.