The Blessings of Rain

Dear Diary,

We've had a couple of weeks of near perfect October weather.  Now, we are in for a few days of rain, heavy at times with some localized flooding.  It is a blessing really as we were in need of rain, things were getting very dry, so this will soak the woods and prevent any wildfires.  I wish I could transport some of this rain to California!

My view out the breakfast room window was just lovely I thought with the raindrops, berries and turning leaves.  This rain will bring down a lot of leaves and may put an end to my scattering milkweed seeds unfortunately. 

Rainy days are blessings.  They renew the forests and ponds and they give me the perfect excuse to stay in and read.  And frankly, falling to sleep to the sound of rain on the roof is one of my favorite things.  So was jumping in puddles when I was young and making little boats out of leaves with acorn sailors and sailing them in the little "lakes" that formed in low places around the house.  I guess the lesson here is if you can't change the weather, learn to play in the rain!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.