Waiting for Gaylord

Dear Diary,

I saw Gaylord for the first time this season a few days ago but not since.  I've put out extra sunflower seeds and peanuts but it is just Philly and her crew that comes; and the birds of course.  I feel like a little child waiting for Christmas but unlike Christmas I don't know the exact date of the event!  I look out countless times a day to the feeding table but no Gaylord.

This is a very old photograph of the feeding table at the house where I grew up.  It was probably around 1953 or 54, not long after we moved there from upstate New York where I was born.  My grandmother always put out food for the squirrels, I guess that is where I got my passion for them.

I love this faded old image because it reminds me of the old farm.  I use to play for hours in that barn on the hill.  I don't remember what that T-shaped thing is, part of an old clothes line perhaps?  The well house is just out of the picture to the right.  It is where I would fall 15 years later and severely injure my back.  I feel that old injury this morning after trying to stack wood yesterday so I will leave the rest for Matt who will be here this morning to help.  I, on the other hand, will keep an eye out for Gaylord.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.