Traditions

I've never posted a screenshot from Twitter before.

I'd like to say I thought long and hard about it, but it would be a lie. It's 21:54, and it's all I've got.

I've no pets or kids to Blip. Dinner is long gone. I've a house full of guide books, but enough is enough.

It has been a rough, tough day. Work. I'll say no more on that.

Anyway, two wee comments on the Blip.

First, Scotland (like other parts of Britain & Ireland I think) has its own Hallowe'en traditions which have been gradually eroded by the US ones. For example, we don't use pumpkins - we use turnips. We call is guising, not "trick or treat", and money was never involved - fruit and sweets.

So, the message rings true.

Next, Brian Moore is a lawyer who played rugby for England when it was all (allegedly) amateur. He then became a TV pundit and commentator. In both roles he was... erm... robust and often a bit anti Scottish.

Then relatively recently he went public about being a victim of sex abuse as a child. His personality mellowed and a sense of humour was revealed.

Apologies for the sweary words if you're offended. It won't happen again. Honest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.