Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

The piano

Back blipped on 28th - I was too busy and too tired yesterday evening. 

The piano standing in solitary splendour in the newly decorated hall, and with nothing on the top.  Quite a contrast to this.  I don't suppose this state of tidiness will last long, but I hope it never again gets as bad as it was then.

The piano was bought by my grandad in his youth - somewhere I still have the receipt.  His sister actually helped him to pay for it, and he paid her back a small amount (half a crown (2s6d, or 12½p) I think) each week.  He gave it to his eldest daughter, who was a keen pianist, and when she emigrated to the USA (1956?) she gave it to me.  It has travelled around the country with me!  So a family heirloom, though I suspect neither of my daughters will be interested in taking it when I die.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.