Pulteney Bridge

This famous bridge (although I hadn't heard of it until today) spans the River Avon in Bath. It was built late 18th century and is rare as it has shops on both sides, just like a normal street; there is no awareness of walking over a bridge. the horseshoe shaped weir is very photogenic and the whole scene here is delightful.

I am in Bath for a day's induction training at the RPS headquarters tomorrow.  As I have a fair distance to travel here from home, they offer hotel accommodation overnight - I took up the offer and came down earlier today to have a look at a few things in Bath.  I haven't been to this city for more years than I care to remember.  We came on a family holiday to Somerset when I was about 11 and I recall visiting the Roman baths in pouring rain. That was a very wet holiday, which must have been hell for my parents with three children, including my two younger brothers who just wanted to get digging on the beaches.  My poor mother making sandwiches in the car with the rain pouring down outside!  She will laugh about it when I see her on Monday.

Today it was not raining and I spent a long time at the Roman Baths - so much history there - listening carefully to the excellent audio guide and taking a few photographs with too many tourists and poor lighting conditions inside.  I'll add a couple of extras which show a skull and a reconstruction of what the chp would have looked like.  He was buried rather than cremated, indicating he was likely to have been Christian and was relatively old at 45+ years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.