But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Auchencorth Moss.

My first club-run for a month, and it was my turn to lead it. The wind, the start location, and the destination, all conspired to prevent us from reaching Elsrickle in time for our village hall booking; however, since there was no caretaker to police our visit we were able to take our time. We needed to, as we were all knackered by that time.
 
Every cloud – as the saying goes; the chuff wind through some delightful scenery to our coffee stop followed by our fastest ever crossing of the Auchencorth Moor made everyone happy. The Blip is from the moor with the Pentlands in the background and one of the towers in in front. I believe the towers were surveyors’’ landmarks which are well documented, though not on Google which is my usual source of information.
 
The fly in the day’s fun was that I contrived to fall off the trike at the café; it was stationary at the time but I fell against the wooden wall of the building. It’s just the sort of incident for which cycle helmets are designed, so it was convenient that I was wearing one, but it didn’t prevent me from bruising my elbow or straining neck muscles - both of which make bed a bit uncomfortable. Touchingly, people seemed very concerned about my wellfare and our club president put her arms around me for support all the way to a seat inside. It was an experience that I will cherish in the years to come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.