Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Barclays or Santander?

Today I had a wonderful morning at Brockholes nature reserve in the lovely autumn sunshine. Once again I was in search of "Kevin" the car park kestrel, and once again I missed him.  But I did find his "dinner" - the tiny bank voles. They have been nicknamed "Barclays" and "Santander" by the locals on FB(geddit?), but I have no idea which one this was :) 
They live in Boilton Woods under the logs at the unofficial feeding station. This is only the second time I have seen them and the first time I have been able to get a shot or two - they are SO quick and tiny, but they are so cute. 

As well as the usual woodland birds, I also saw a female stonechat - a bird I have never seen before, and a treecreeper, which you don't see so often. I have posted both in extras if you have time to look. 

More commenting to do tonight - didn't manage to catch up with everyone last night - was too busy watching Strictly and then I fell asleep after Casualty!
Tonight it is the Mexican Grand Prix where Lewis Hamilton could win the Championship, but more exciting is the start of Blue Planet 2 at 8pm on BBC1 - don't miss it if you are in the UK - I am sure it will be AMAZING!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.