Sunrise over Kawau

Woke this morning as the lads started to become active. They woke their mother, which meant that I could duck out for a morning run. Looking out from the house all I could see in the sky was cloud and gradually increasing light, and so I was not in any hurry. Wanted to make sure I was not too early able to pick up a newspaper from the dairy.

Went up onto the hill in Highfield Reserve, to be greeted by an orange sky below dark rain clouds, and a great swathe of bright sunlight across the water of Kawau Bay. The sun had only just risen above the highest point of Kawau Island. I widened the angle from the first shot I took, in order to include the yachts moored to buoys in Algies Bay (on the right).

A tui, two quail and the headland later, the memory card was full. Although I deleted a couple of bad shots from a day or so ago, I didn't take any more. And didn't need to.

The boys and their mother left for Auckland after lunch. Sad to see them go. The house is emptier than it was. The volume of noise is substantially lower. Will have to try and get them back again one weekend soon.

Hours spent on the agenda papers for next week's meeting. Also a letter. And I finished The story of English in 100 words. Fascinating book, and very enjoyable. So many words we (I) take for granted have such a story to them.

I know I'm well behind in my comments on other's journals, and I am going to have limited time this weekend. Please accept my apologies, and my gratitude for the time you spend looking at and commenting on my efforts.

By the way, large is good

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.