There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Sunflower Party!

It was drizzling on Tuesday. Not to be deterred, I grabbed my camera at the first opportunity and headed for the Arboretum.

The sunflowers have been riotous there for the past few weeks, and I was afraid they would be nearly done. I was wrong! They were in full swing, bright and sunny, even in the drizzle.

Juggling my umbrella and camera, I made my way around, checking out the lily pond, the pollinator gardens, and finally the sunflowers.

There were bumblebees on the sunflowers, even in the rain. Bees won't be deterred. Not by a little drip. I like that about them. They are one with purpose.

The drizzle turned into a more steady rain. As I was starting to leave the sunflowers, an orange blur went past me. Butterfly! I turned and went back for a closer look.

It stopped on a yellow sunflower, walked around a bit (avoided stepping on the bee), opened and closed its wings. Then it climbed to the tippy-top of the sunflower and spread its wings: the butterfly triumphant!

It sat still exactly like this for several minutes, the rain running down its wings. An orange jewel in the rain.

I stood and watched in amazement: a moment full of joy and magic! I admit I have never thought about what butterflies do in the rain. Maybe I thought they seek shelter somewhere. But not this one!

Oh, rain, beautiful rain: rain down on me.

P.S. If you liked this butterfly/sunflower photo, you may also enjoy:

Tuesday 11 September 2012: Sunflower Butterfly

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.