2017 Days

I got up this morning to make bacon and eggs for brunch. It was Miss L's idea and who am I to say no to bacon and eggs!! 
Once we'd eaten it Mr K - with a very uncharacteristic man-of-action attitude - announced that he was "going down the hill". Not some weird euphemism but that he was walking into town.
I didn't ask him why and off he marched.
When he got back half an hour later he came in with a cup of tea, a bunch of flowers, two fancy chocolate bars and a Sunday Times.
Obviously I asked if I had forgotten a significant date!!
He told me that on this day - in 2017 - it's 2017 days since we got married.
The fact that he knows stuff like that is one of the reasons that I'm thankful every day that I married him!!!
He also said he's sorted out the finance for our Bongo (camper van!!!) but that he hasn't had the paperwork yet so couldn't give me anything.
Leaving the Little Misses and Archie in Mr K's capable hands I went to Milton Keynes this afternoon to do a bit of undisturbed shopping.
I am going to a funeral on Tuesday and I don't think my usual garb of jeans, converse and scruffy striped top is quite appropriate!
I found a lovely new skirt in New Look (been a few years since I shopped in there!!!) and a dress, a jacket and some shoes in Debenhams. Annoyingly they didn't have the shoes in the right size but I can order them in Oxford for Mr K to collect tomorrow which also means he can pay for them. Result!!! 
I felt a bit guilty that as I bought the new clothes I was thinking that they'd be nice for the cruise we're going on in April. It's one thing to think you can wear a bridesmaid's dress again but it feels a bit wrong with funeral clothes!.
We'll have a toast to Mr B when we're on the Queen Elizabeth drinking a piña or two!!
After buying tights and a back up pair of shoes in case there's an issue with the Oxford ones I was exhausted and fed up with shopping so headed home. 
It had all taken much longer than I thought it was going to so I was late getting home for our Sunday swim. I was very impressed that Mr K had walked down to the pool with the Little Misses - a fair old trek - rather than missing the swim.
I went straight to the pool and watched them from the viewing area for half an hour. It was a shame not to be in with them but it was lovely to see them all having so much fun. And, as usual, the pool more or less to themselves until they were thrown out at closing time.
Dinner was sausages and veg. I'm fed up of cooking roasts and Miss E behaving like I'm serving vomit covered earwax!! 
An evening of singing and dancing (watching rather than partaking!) and that was Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.