Lost in Thought

By steveng

One for Mr Vaughan

A diary blip today as I am short of time and off to work soon.

I have a variety of these mechanics of English books, often bought in 2nd hand bookshops, as I never really followed the rules of English. 

My English teacher, Mr Vaughan, made a significant and very positive impression on me.  Which probably explains why I am still trying to improve my understanding of English grammar ~40 years after I left his class.  He would frequently ask if a piece of work was intended to be English as a means of communication, English as an art form, or somethings else?  In the age of email I frequently find myself asking the same question :-)

I could say something similar about  Mr Jones, Physics, Mr Mann, Mathematics, Mr Easthope, Technical Drawing and Mr Greville, the head.  Perhaps this list should have started with a colon?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.