Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Day off

Today, I had a day off!  I had asked someone for a meeting about the computer system, and the only slot they could offer was 0900 today.  So I went in for that.  And was roped into helping with the coding, as the monthly report has to be sent in the next few days.  So I spent most of the rest of the day trying to decipher other people's records, both reading their notes, and working out what they thought was wrong with the patient, and then coding it on the computer system.  I didn't leave my office until 1800, having worked through my lunch, as well.

The only photo I took was of the second pile of notes after I had coded them, and was about to take them back to reception for filing.  I'd previously done a similar sized pile, and already returned it. 

Afterwards, I fired off a highly disgruntled email about the importance of doing one's own coding - it takes you half the time, or maybe even less.  Unfortunately, since the clinician has already written in the notes (albeit possibly illegibly) it feels like duplication; but the coding is what is used for claiming the payment for a patient's attendance, and also creates the GP letter, so it is very important.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.