Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

More genealogy

I've spent the day going through a box of stuff.  I've sorted it into categories, and I have managed to throw away VERY little.  It was mainly stuff related to my mother's side of the family.  Amongst it was another family tree.

I knew that this had been compiled back in the 60's.  My grandfather (on my mother's side) was one of 12 or 13 children, and his father (whose first name, incidentally, was rather oddly Doctor) was also from a very large family.  One of my great grandfather's children (by another wife) had died with no offspring and no will, and a decent sized estate.  Much effort was spent tracing all the relatives that might have a claim on the estate.  This family tree was the result.  It is incomplete, as it doesn't have all the later generations. 

I've spent several hours transcribing the information from this onto my family tree on Ancestry.com.

There were other wonderful nuggets.  There were several references supplied for my mother when she left her job at Downe House School in 1954 (after marrying my dad).  There were also a good many of her old school reports, in one of which she scored only 5 out of 20 for needlework (she was a diligent and prolific seamstress over the years).

There's a Certificate of Proficiency in the Home Guard given to my granddad in 1943, certifying him to be proficient in General Knowledge, Rifle, and Map reading.

I shall continue to investigate what other nuggets I can find.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.